Skip to content

Architecture and migrationGuide

AI model deprecation calendar: OpenAI, Anthropic, Google

One dated table of the model retirements OpenAI, Anthropic and Google have announced between now and mid-2027, with each vendor's listed replacement and a link to the page it came from, plus the provider-hosted copies that retire on a different day. Reviewed monthly.

By INFRO Editorial

Published

9 min read

A dark grid of small amber cells, some glowing and some fading out, read left to right like a calendar

In short

Between 13 October 2026 and mid-2027 the announced retirements cluster in five dates: Vertex AI's Gemini 2.5 models on 20 October, OpenAI's legacy snapshots on 23 October, Claude Sonnet 4.5 on 30 November, OpenAI's GPT-5 and o3 snapshots on 11 December, and OpenAI's audio models in January and February 2027. Gemini 3.8 Flash's list price doubles on 1 January 2027. The same model hosted on Azure, Bedrock or Vertex AI retires on that platform's own date, so check the schedule of the platform you actually call.

Key takeaways

  • OpenAI's 23 October 2026 shutdown is the largest date on the calendar; 11 December 2026 retires the GPT-5 and o3 snapshots next.
  • Vertex AI retires gemini-2.5-pro, -flash and -flash-lite on 20 October 2026; Google's Gemini API lists no shutdown date for 2.5 Pro and Flash.
  • Anthropic retires claude-sonnet-4-5-20250929 on 30 November 2026; its other dates are 'not sooner than' floors, not announcements.
  • Azure OpenAI retires the same OpenAI models on different days, in both directions: o4-mini later (19 November), gpt-5 2025-08-07 later (9 February 2027), gpt-image-1.5 later (16 December).
  • Gemini 3.8 Flash and 3.6 Flash list rates double on 1 January 2027 on the Gemini API.
  • Gemini API dates are the earliest possible; Vertex AI dates may be extended but never moved earlier.

Model retirements arrive one vendor page at a time, each with its own vocabulary and its own idea of what a date means. This page puts the announced ones in one place: every retirement from today, 13 October 2026, to mid-2027 that OpenAI, Anthropic and Google list on their own pages, plus the platforms that host those models on a different schedule. Each row names its source. Nothing here comes from a roundup.

It is reviewed monthly. The review re-reads every source, adds new announcements and removes dates that have passed. The date at the top of the page is the last time that happened.

For what to do once a date in this table applies to you, use the model deprecation migration playbook. For the 23 October OpenAI shutdown specifically, see OpenAI's October 23 shutdowns.

Read the dates the way each vendor means them

A date in one vendor's table is not the same kind of promise as a date in another's.

  • OpenAI shuts a model down on the listed date: at that point it "will no longer be accessible"1.
  • Anthropic lists firm retirement dates for deprecated models, and "Not sooner than" floors for active ones. Requests to a retired model fail, and Anthropic gives at least 60 days' notice before retiring a publicly released model2.
  • Google's Gemini API lists the "earliest possible dates" a model might be shut down and promises notice of the exact date3.
  • Vertex AI says its retirement timelines "may be extended" but "won't be moved to an earlier date than what is listed"4.
  • Azure OpenAI returns 410 Gone after retirement, may auto-upgrade Standard deployments to the named replacement, and does not auto-upgrade provisioned deployments5.
  • Amazon Bedrock puts the end-of-life date on each model card, says requests fail after it, and says migration "will not happen automatically"6.
Vendor pages, read 2026-10-13What a date meansAfter the dateWhere the dates apply
OpenAIShutdown: no longer accessibleModel or endpoint not accessibleOpenAI's API; Azure keeps its own schedule
AnthropicRetirement date; future ones "not sooner than"Requests failClaude API, Claude Platform on AWS, Microsoft Foundry; not Bedrock or Google Cloud
Gemini APIEarliest possible shutdownEndpoint no longer availableGemini API only
Vertex AIMay be extended, never moved earlierNot stated on the pageVertex AI only
Azure OpenAIRetirement; replacement named 90–120 days before410 Gone; Standard deployments may auto-upgradeAzure; provisioned deployments are not auto-upgraded
Amazon BedrockEOL date on the model cardRequests fail; no automatic migrationBedrock only
What a retirement date means on each platform, and what happens to a request after it. From each vendor's own page, read 2026-10-13.

The calendar

  1. 20 Oct 2026Vertex AI: gemini-2.5-pro, -flash, -flash-liteVertex AI retirement. The Gemini API lists no shutdown date for 2.5 Pro and Flash.
  2. 22 Oct 2026Gemini API: Veo 3.1 previews, gemini-omni-flash-previewReplacement: gemini-omni-1.1-flash.
  3. 23 Oct 2026OpenAI: o1, o3-mini, o4-mini, gpt-4o-2024-05-13, gpt-4-turbo, gpt-image-1 and morePlus legacy fine-tunes. Gemini API: deep-research-pro-preview-12-2025.
  4. 17 Nov 2026Gemini API: TTS and Live previewsgemini-3.1-flash-tts-preview, gemini-3.1-flash-live-preview and 2.5 audio previews.
  5. 19 Nov 2026Azure OpenAI: o1, o3, o3-mini, o4-mini and pro variantsVertex AI: gemini-3.6-flash.
  6. 30 Nov 2026Anthropic: claude-sonnet-4-5-20250929OpenAI: Evals, Agent Builder, v1/prompts.
  7. 1 Dec 2026OpenAI: gpt-image-1-mini, gpt-image-1.5, chatgpt-image-latest
  8. 11 Dec 2026OpenAI: gpt-5 snapshots (2025-08-07), o3, o3-pro, gpt-5-pro
  9. 1 Jan 2027Gemini API: 3.8 Flash and 3.6 Flash list prices double
  10. 6–20 Jan 2027OpenAI: TTS models, new fine-tuning jobs (6 Jan); realtime and audio models (20 Jan)
  11. 26 Feb 2027OpenAI: whisper-1 and the gpt-4o transcription models
  12. Mar–May 2027Gemini: 2.5-flash-image (15 Mar); OpenAI: gpt-5.1, gpt-5.3-codex, gpt-5.4-nano (1 Apr); Gemini API: 3.1-flash-lite (7 May)
The announced retirements and one price change, October 2026 to May 2027, grouped by date. The table below has every model id and replacement.

Dates are the vendor's own. "Listed replacement" is the replacement the vendor names; where a vendor names none, the cell says so.

DateProviderModel or snapshotListed replacementSource
2026-10-20Vertex AIgemini-2.5-progemini-3.8-flash or gemini-3.5-flash4
2026-10-20Vertex AIgemini-2.5-flashgemini-3.8-flash, gemini-3.5-flash-lite or gemini-3.1-flash-lite4
2026-10-20Vertex AIgemini-2.5-flash-litegemini-3.8-flash, gemini-3.1-flash-lite or Gemma 44
2026-10-22Gemini APIveo-3.1-generate-preview, veo-3.1-fast-generate-preview, veo-3.1-lite-generate-preview, gemini-omni-flash-previewgemini-omni-1.1-flash3
2026-10-23OpenAIo1, o1-pro, o3-mini, gpt-4o-2024-05-13, gpt-4-turbo, gpt-4-0613, gpt-4-1106-preview (and their aliases)gpt-5.6-sol (o1-pro: with reasoning.mode: pro)1
2026-10-23OpenAIo4-mini, gpt-3.5-turbo-0125 (and aliases)gpt-5.6-terra1
2026-10-23OpenAIgpt-4.1-nanogpt-5.6-luna1
2026-10-23OpenAIgpt-image-1gpt-image-2.5-sunburst or gpt-image-2.5-flare1
2026-10-23OpenAIFine-tunes: ft-gpt-4, ft-gpt-3.5-turbo, ft-o4-mini-2025-04-16, ft-gpt-4.1-nano-2025-04-14, ft-babbage-002, ft-davinci-002A base model: gpt-5.6-sol, -terra or -luna1
2026-10-23Gemini APIdeep-research-pro-preview-12-2025deep-research-preview-04-20263
2026-10-31Mistralzai-glm-5-2 (Z.ai GLM 5.2 on Mistral's platform)Z.ai GLM 5.37
2026-10-31OpenAIEvals platform: existing evals become read-onlyNot listed1
2026-11-17Gemini APIgemini-3.1-flash-tts-preview, gemini-2.5-flash-preview-tts, gemini-2.5-pro-preview-ttsgemini-3.8-flash-tts or gemini-3.8-flash-lite-tts3
2026-11-17Gemini APIgemini-3.1-flash-live-preview, gemini-2.5-flash-native-audio-preview-12-2025gemini-3.8-live3
2026-11-19Vertex AIgemini-3.6-flashgemini-3.8-flash4
2026-11-30Anthropicclaude-sonnet-4-5-20250929claude-sonnet-5-52
2026-11-30OpenAIEvals dashboard and API, Agent Builder, v1/prompts and reusable prompt objectsPromptfoo migration path; Agents SDK or ChatGPT Workspace Agents; prompt content in application code1
2026-12-01OpenAIgpt-image-1-mini, gpt-image-1.5, chatgpt-image-latestgpt-image-2.5-sunburst or gpt-image-2.5-flare1
2026-12-11OpenAIgpt-5-2025-08-07, o3-2025-04-16gpt-5.6-sol1
2026-12-11OpenAIgpt-5-pro-2025-10-06, o3-pro-2025-06-10gpt-5.6-sol with reasoning.mode: pro1
2026-12-11OpenAIgpt-5-mini-2025-08-07 / gpt-5-nano-2025-08-07gpt-5.6-terra / gpt-5.6-luna1
2026-12-13Vertex AIgemini-live-2.5-flash-native-audioNot listed4
2027-01-06OpenAItts-1, tts-1-hd, gpt-4o-mini-tts-2025-03-20, gpt-4o-mini-tts-2025-12-15gpt-realtime-2.1-mini1
2027-01-06OpenAISelf-serve fine-tuning: active existing customers can no longer create new jobsNot listed1
2027-01-20OpenAIgpt-realtime, gpt-4o-realtime / gpt-realtime-mini, gpt-4o-mini-realtimegpt-realtime-2.1 / gpt-realtime-2.1-mini1
2027-01-20OpenAIgpt-audio, gpt-audio-mini, gpt-4o-audio, gpt-4o-mini-audiogpt-audio-1.51
2027-01-20OpenAIgpt-4o-mini-transcribe-2025-03-20gpt-4o-mini-transcribe-2025-12-151
2027-01-28Vertex AIgemini-3.7-flashgemini-3.8-flash4
2027-02-26OpenAIwhisper-1, gpt-4o-transcribe, gpt-4o-mini-transcribe, gpt-4o-transcribe-diarizegpt-live-transcribe or gpt-transcribe1
2027-03-15Gemini API and Vertex AIgemini-2.5-flash-imagegemini-3.1-flash-lite-image3 4
2027-04-01OpenAIgpt-5.1, gpt-5.3-codex / gpt-5.4-nanogpt-6-sol / gpt-6-luna1
2027-04-01Vertex AItext-embedding-005, text-embedding-004, text-multilingual-embedding-002, multimodalembedding@001Not listed4
2027-05-07Gemini APIgemini-3.1-flash-lite (earliest possible)gemini-3.5-flash-lite3
Announced retirements, 13 October 2026 to May 2027, from each vendor's page read 2026-10-13.

Three things in the table deserve a second look.

Gemini 2.5 depends on where you call it. Vertex AI lists gemini-2.5-pro, gemini-2.5-flash and gemini-2.5-flash-lite for 20 October 20264. The Gemini API's page says 2.5 models "are not deprecated and will continue to be served until further notice", limits access to users who have used them before, and recommends 3.5 Flash-Lite or 3.8 Flash for new projects3. The same model name, two different answers, one week apart.

OpenAI's December date is the next big one. The 11 December retirement takes the dated gpt-5, gpt-5-mini, gpt-5-nano and gpt-5-pro snapshots and o3 and o3-pro1. Teams that just moved off o4-mini onto a GPT-5 snapshot should check which one.

OpenAI is retiring platform features, not only models. Evals, Agent Builder and the v1/prompts API end on 30 November1. A prompt stored as a reusable prompt object has to move into your own code or configuration before then.

Not yet announced: Anthropic's earliest dates

Anthropic's model status table gives every active model a tentative retirement that is "Not sooner than" a date. These are floors, not announcements: Anthropic deprecates a model first, then gives at least 60 days' notice2. Two of them fall this year.

Anthropic, tentative retirementStatus on 13 Oct 2026Not sooner than
claude-haiku-4-5-20251001Active15 Oct 2026
claude-opus-4-5-20251101Active24 Nov 2026
claude-opus-4-6Active5 Feb 2027
claude-sonnet-4-6Active17 Feb 2027
claude-opus-4-7Active16 Apr 2027
claude-opus-4-8Active28 May 2027
Anthropic models whose earliest possible retirement falls before mid-2027. None is deprecated as of 13 October 2026; any of them can be, with at least 60 days' notice.

Anthropic also deprecates parameters, not only models: on Claude 4.7 and later, a non-default temperature, top_p or top_k returns a 400, and its Python SDK from v1.0 removes them2. When a Claude 4.5 caller moves to a 5.x replacement, check the sampling parameters it sends.

One price change: Gemini 3.8 Flash

The Gemini API pricing page lists Gemini 3.8 Flash at $0.75 input and $3.75 output per million tokens through 31 December 2026, and $1.50 and $7.50 from 1 January 2027; Gemini 3.6 Flash follows the same schedule, and the context caching, Batch, Flex and Priority prices for 3.8 Flash change on the same date8. It is not a retirement, but it changes the cost of every request on the same day for anyone who stays, which is why it belongs on a calendar of dates that need a decision. Budgets and cost forecasts that span the new year should use the 2027 rate.

Hosted copies keep their own schedules

Calling a model through a cloud platform means calling that platform's copy, on that platform's dates.

Azure OpenAI. Microsoft's schedule differs from OpenAI's in both directions9:

Model and versionOpenAI APIAzure OpenAI
o1, o1-pro, o3-mini, o4-mini2026-10-232026-11-19
o3, o3-pro2026-12-112026-11-19
gpt-4o 2024-05-132026-10-232026-12-09
gpt-image-12026-10-232026-10-23
gpt-image-1.52026-12-012026-12-16
gpt-5, gpt-5-mini, gpt-5-nano 2025-08-072026-12-112027-02-09
gpt-4.1-nano 2025-04-142026-10-232027-04-14
whisper2027-02-262026-12-15
The same OpenAI models on OpenAI's API and on Azure OpenAI, from each vendor's page read 2026-10-13.

Microsoft's schedule also lists Claude models on Foundry: claude-sonnet-4-5 for 2026-11-30, and claude-haiku-4-5 for 2026-11-15 and claude-opus-4-5 for 2026-11-249. Anthropic's own page, which says its dates apply to Microsoft Foundry as well, lists Haiku 4.5 and Opus 4.5 as active with no retirement announced2. If you run Claude on Foundry, confirm with both before you plan around either.

Amazon Bedrock. Bedrock's lifecycle page says its dates "may differ from dates published by model providers" and that for Bedrock usage "only the dates on the model card apply"6. Read the model card for each Bedrock model id you call.

Google Cloud. Anthropic says Bedrock and Google Cloud set their own retirement schedules for Claude2, and Vertex AI's own Gemini dates differ from the Gemini API's, as the 2.5 rows show.

Vendors with no dates in range

Mistral publishes a deprecated and retired models table on its models overview; the only retirement after today is zai-glm-5-2 on 31 October 20267. Cohere's deprecations page lists nothing retiring after 13 October 2026; its latest entry took effect on 4 April 202610. xAI's models page publishes no retirement dates; it documents aliases such as <modelname>-latest that move to newer versions11, which means the model behind an alias can change without a retirement notice. Azure's schedule lists Grok retirements for its own deployments9.

Using the calendar

A calendar only helps if each row is checked against what you actually send. For every row:

  • Search your traffic for the exact id, and the ids it aliases, over at least 30 days.
  • Note which platform each caller uses — the vendor's API, Azure, Bedrock, Vertex AI or an aggregator — and take that platform's date.
  • Qualify the listed replacement on recorded requests, with the parameters your code sends.
  • Put the model behind a name you control before the cut-over, not during it.
  • Refuse the old id in your own systems a few days before the vendor does.

Tracking these dates with INFRO

INFRO is a control plane for the provider accounts you already hold: you connect your own OpenAI, Anthropic, Google, Azure, Bedrock or Mistral account, the provider bills you directly, and INFRO records each request that passes through it. For a calendar like this one, it answers "does this row apply to us?" from traffic, and turns the answer into configuration.

  • Who calls a model. GET /v1/usage groups requests and estimated provider cost by model, provider, connection, project and key; GET /v1/requests filters by the same fields. History reaches back 7, 14, 30 or 90 days on Developer, Startup, Team and Business. See usage analytics.
  • Stop new usage. A model allowlist entry such as !openai/gpt-image-1.5 blocks one model at organization, project or key level; requests for it are refused with 403 model_not_allowed before any provider call.
  • Move without a deploy. Applications that name a route instead of a model id change model when the route's targets change.
  • Notices. When INFRO deprecates a model in its own catalog, owners and admins get an email and a notice under the console's bell with the retirement date, the successor, and the requests, keys and routes in the organization that still use it. After a cut-over, traffic changes flag a connection answered by a model id it had not reported in the previous 14 days.

INFRO's catalog has its own deprecation policy — at least 30 days' notice, after which a retired catalog id becomes an alias for its designated successor — but that is a catalog convenience, not a stay of execution. The provider whose account you connect decides whether a model answers on its date.

From the team that builds it

Where this shows up in INFRO

INFRO is a control plane in front of the provider accounts you already hold. The capabilities below are the parts of it this article touches, each with the documentation that defines its behaviour.

  • Usage and cost per request

    Private early access

    Every request records its model, latency, token or unit counts, and estimated provider cost, queryable by project and key.

    Read the documentation for Usage and cost per request
  • Model allowlists

    Private early access

    Approve which models a project may call; anything else returns a policy error instead of a line item.

    Read the documentation for Model allowlists
  • Health-aware routing

    Private early access

    Named routes use priority or weighted targets over your own connections, with health checks, retries and failover.

    Read the documentation for Health-aware routing
  • Traffic changes

    Private early access

    Changes in your traffic that come with no error: a model answered by a new snapshot, longer answers, a lost prompt cache, more fallbacks, answers cut off by the length limit, slower responses or a new error mix. Each finding names the likely cause and the estimated weekly change in provider cost. INFRO sees request metadata, not answers, so it does not judge answer quality.

    Read the documentation for Traffic changes
  • Deprecation and maintenance notices in the console

    Private early access

    Catalog model deprecations, maintenance windows and product changes appear under the bell in the console, with each deprecated model's retirement date, its successor and what in your organization still uses it, and are emailed to owners and admins.

INFRO is in private early access. Provider usage is billed to you by your providers; INFRO charges a software subscription and takes 0% of model spend. See plans.

Sources

Numbered in order of first citation. Each was opened and checked against the claim on the date shown.

  1. 1.Deprecations (opens in a new tab) — OpenAI. Accessed Oct 13, 2026.
  2. 2.Model deprecations (opens in a new tab) — Anthropic. Accessed Oct 13, 2026.
  3. 3.Gemini deprecations (opens in a new tab) — Google. Accessed Oct 13, 2026.
  4. 4.Model versions and lifecycle (opens in a new tab) — Google Cloud. Accessed Oct 13, 2026.
  5. 5.Foundry Models lifecycle and support policy (opens in a new tab) — Microsoft. Accessed Oct 13, 2026.
  6. 6.Model lifecycle (opens in a new tab) — Amazon Web Services. Accessed Oct 13, 2026.
  7. 7.Models overview (opens in a new tab) — Mistral AI. Accessed Oct 13, 2026.
  8. 8.Gemini Developer API pricing (opens in a new tab) — Google. Accessed Oct 13, 2026.
  9. 9.Model retirement schedule (opens in a new tab) — Microsoft. Accessed Oct 13, 2026.
  10. 10.Deprecations (opens in a new tab) — Cohere. Accessed Oct 13, 2026.
  11. 11.Models and pricing (opens in a new tab) — xAI. Accessed Oct 13, 2026.

About this article

Every row was read from the vendor's own deprecation, lifecycle or pricing page on 2026-10-13: OpenAI's deprecations page, Anthropic's model deprecations page, the Gemini API deprecations and pricing pages, Vertex AI's model versions page, Microsoft's Azure OpenAI retirement schedule, Amazon Bedrock's model lifecycle page, and Mistral's, Cohere's and xAI's model documentation. Third-party roundups were not used as sources. INFRO behaviour is described from its public documentation and checked against the gateway source. The page is reviewed monthly; each review re-reads every source and updates the accessed dates.

Last checked against its sources on . The next review is due by . No separate named reviewer is recorded for this article.

How articles are written, sourced and corrected is set out in the editorial standards.