Skip to content

Evaluation and modelsGuide

Open weight models in 2026: licenses, families, hosting

What "open weights" does and does not give you, the licenses attached to today's main families (Apache 2.0, MIT and a growing set of custom terms), what each family publishes, and how to choose between self-hosting and a hosted provider.

By INFRO Editorial

Published

9 min read

Dark ground with a row of translucent glass model cores, each lit from within by amber light and joined by thin lines to separate host nodes

In short

Open weight models are models whose trained parameters you can download and run yourself, under a license that sets what you may do with them. Open weights is not the same as open source: the training data and code usually stay private, and several families attach conditions such as attribution, revenue thresholds or use restrictions. As of 19 October 2026, gpt-oss, Qwen3.8-27B, Gemma 4 and Mistral Small 4 and Large 3 ship under Apache 2.0 and DeepSeek V4.1 Flash under MIT, while Llama, Kimi K3, GLM-5.3 and MiniMax M3 use their own licenses.

Key takeaways

  • Open weights means you can download and run the parameters. It does not mean you get the training data or training code, which the Open Source AI Definition requires.
  • The license is part of the model. Apache 2.0 and MIT are short and permissive; Llama, Kimi K3, GLM-5.3 and MiniMax M3 add attribution, revenue thresholds, notices or prohibited uses.
  • Size decides where a model can run: gpt-oss-20b fits in 16 GB, gpt-oss-120b on one 80 GB GPU, while trillion-parameter models such as Kimi K3 need a multi-GPU node or a host.
  • The same weights on two hosts can differ in context window, precision and status. Groq lists Qwen3.8-27B with a 131,072-token window, half of the model card's native 262,144.
  • Choose open weights for control, portability or data path, not by default; evaluate each model on each host you would actually use.

Open weight models are models whose trained parameters are published for download, so you can run them on your own hardware or pick any host that serves them, under a license that says what you may do with them. That makes them portable in a way a closed API model is not. It does not make them open source, and it does not make every license permissive.

This guide covers what "open weights" gives you, the licenses attached to the main families as of 19 October 2026, a table of what each family publishes and where it can run, and when open weights are the right choice.

Open weights vs open source: what you actually get

An open weight release gives you the parameters: the files a serving engine loads to run the model. Usually it also gives you a model card, a chat template and inference examples. It rarely gives you the training data or the code that produced the weights.

The Open Source Initiative's Open Source AI Definition 1.0 sets a higher bar. It requires the "preferred form for modification" in three parts: detailed information about the training data, the complete source code used to train and run the system, and the model parameters. It also requires four freedoms: to use the system for any purpose without asking permission, to study it, to modify it, and to share it1.

Most of the models in this guide meet the parameters requirement and, under a permissive license, the freedoms. Few publish training data information in the depth the definition asks for. "Open weights" is the accurate term, and it is the one this guide uses.

What open weights change in practice:

  • You choose the host. The lab that trained the model and the company that runs it can be different parties, so the data path is a hosting decision, not a model decision. This is the core of running Chinese open-weight models in production.
  • You control versions. A checkpoint you downloaded does not change underneath you. A hosted API can.
  • You can fine-tune. The weights are the starting point for your own variant, subject to the license.
  • You take on what a closed API hides. Serving, capacity, upgrades and license compliance become yours, or your host's.

The licenses, from permissive to conditional

Read the license attached to the exact model you deploy. It can differ between families, and between models inside one family.

Apache 2.0 and MIT

The simplest case. gpt-oss-120b and gpt-oss-20b are Apache 2.023. So are Qwen3.8-27B4, Gemma 4 31B5, Mistral Small 46 and Mistral Large 37. DeepSeek V4.1 Flash uses the MIT License, which its card says covers both the repository and the model weights8. These allow commercial use, modification and redistribution, with notice requirements and no warranty.

Community licenses with thresholds

Meta's Llama models use custom community licenses. The Llama 3.3 Community License requires a separate license from Meta if your products exceed 700 million monthly active users, a visible "Built with Llama" notice, model names beginning with "Llama" for models trained on Llama outputs that you distribute, and compliance with an acceptable use policy9. Llama 4 Scout carries the Llama 4 Community License with the same 700 million user threshold10.

MIT-style licenses with commercial conditions

Several 2026 releases start from MIT's permission text and add conditions:

  • Kimi K3 (Moonshot AI): a company offering third parties API access to the model's inference or fine-tuning needs a separate agreement once its revenue passes $20 million over any 12 months; products above 100 million monthly active users or $20 million in monthly revenue must display "Kimi K3" in their interface. Internal use that exposes nothing to third parties is exempt11.
  • GLM-5.3 (Z.ai): a model-as-a-service business with more than $10 billion in revenue over 12 months must pass Z.ai's security review before commercial use; embedding the model in product features or relaying requests to models hosted by others does not count12.

Licenses with notices and prohibited uses

The MiniMax Community License for MiniMax M3 is the most restrictive of those read for this guide. Commercial use requires a visible "Built with MiniMax M3" notice, a one-time notice to MiniMax at or below $20 million in yearly revenue and prior written authorization above it. It also prohibits specific uses, including any military purpose13.

Qwen's largest model, Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B, is listed under a license named "qwen3.8-max" rather than Apache 2.014. The smaller Qwen3.8 models and the largest one are not under the same terms, which is exactly why the license check belongs to the model, not the family.

The main open weight families as of October 2026

The table lists one or two current models per family whose model card was opened for this guide. Sizes are as each card states them; "active" applies to mixture-of-experts models, which load all parameters but use a fraction per token.

FamilyModelLicenseSizeContextWhere it can run
gpt-oss (OpenAI)gpt-oss-20bApache 2.021B total, 3.6B active—Within 16 GB of memory; vLLM, Ollama, Transformers3
gpt-oss (OpenAI)gpt-oss-120bApache 2.0117B total, 5.1B active—One 80 GB GPU such as H100 or MI300X2
Llama (Meta)Llama 3.3 70B InstructLlama 3.3 Community70B dense128KMore than one 80 GB GPU at 16-bit9; Groq serves it15
Llama (Meta)Llama 4 ScoutLlama 4 Community109B total, 17B active10MOne H100 with int4 quantization10
Gemma (Google)Gemma 4 31BApache 2.031B dense256KvLLM, SGLang; quantized builds for llama.cpp, Ollama5
Qwen (Alibaba)Qwen3.8-27BApache 2.027B dense, with vision262,144 nativeSGLang, vLLM4
Qwen (Alibaba)Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95Bqwen3.8-max2.4T total, 95B active262,144 nativeMulti-node cluster or a host14
DeepSeekDeepSeek V4.1 FlashMIT763B listed, FP8 weightsUp to 1MvLLM, SGLang8
MistralMistral Small 4Apache 2.0119B total, 6.5B active256KvLLM6
MistralMistral Large 3Apache 2.0675B total256KOne 8×H200 or B200 node at FP87
Kimi (Moonshot AI)Kimi K3Kimi K3 License2.8T total, 104B active1,048,576vLLM, SGLang on a multi-GPU cluster16
GLM (Z.ai)GLM-5.3GLM-5.3 license753B listedNot stated on cardSGLang, vLLM, KTransformers17
MiniMaxMiniMax M3MiniMax Community~428B total, ~23B active1MSGLang, vLLM18
Facts as stated on each model card on 19 October 2026. A dash means the card opened for this guide did not state it.

Three notes on reading it:

  • Llama's newest checkpoints are older than the rest. The most recently updated language models on Meta's Hugging Face organization are the Llama 4 releases, last updated in May 202519. Every other family in the table shipped in 2026.
  • Gemma 4 spans the range. Besides the 31B dense model, the collection holds a 26B mixture-of-experts model with about 4B active parameters and E2B and E4B models aimed at edge devices20.
  • Precision is part of the release. gpt-oss ships MXFP4 weights for its experts, which is why the 120B model fits one 80 GB GPU2; Kimi K3 was trained with MXFP4 weights and MXFP8 activations16; DeepSeek V4.1 Flash publishes FP8 weights8. A host that serves a different precision is serving a different numerical model.

Self-host or use a hosted provider?

The weights are the same either way. What changes is who runs them.

Self-hostedHosted inference provider
Data pathYour infrastructureThe host's infrastructure and retention policy
Cost structureHardware and operations, paid whether traffic arrives or notPer token or per request, no idle cost
Version controlYou decide when to upgradeThe host decides what it serves and when it changes
LimitsWhat your memory allowsWhat the host configures for your account
License complianceEntirely yoursShared with the host under its terms
Who pages at 3 a.m.YouThe host, for its part
The trade-off for the same model. Many teams use both, starting hosted and moving steady workloads in-house.

Hosting options are broad. Hugging Face's Inference Providers documentation lists partners including Baseten, Cerebras, DeepInfra, Fireworks, Groq, Novita, Nscale, OVHcloud, Scaleway, Together and Z.ai behind an OpenAI-compatible router, and describes automatic failover between them when one is flagged unavailable21. Most labs also run their own API for their models. For self-hosting, every engine above exposes an OpenAI-compatible server; self-hosted models behind an OpenAI-compatible endpoint walks through vLLM in production. The infrastructure side of running them in your own data centre is covered in on-prem LLM.

Same weights, different hosts

A hosted open weight model is the model plus the host's choices. Groq's model list shows it plainly: it serves qwen/qwen3.8-27b with a 131,072-token context window and marks it Preview, meaning evaluation only and subject to discontinuation at short notice15. The model card states 262,144 tokens natively4. Neither is wrong; they are different products built on the same weights.

What to check for every host of a model you plan to use:

  1. Context and output limits as the host configures them, not as the card states.
  2. Precision. BF16, FP8 and lower formats are not interchangeable for every task.
  3. Chat template and tool-call parsing. A wrong template or parser turns tool calls into plain text.
  4. Status. Preview, beta and production carry different promises.
  5. Version pinning. Whether the host's model id points at a fixed checkpoint or a moving one.

Then measure. Same open-weight model, different hosts publishes a protocol and harness for checking whether two hosts behave the same, starting from run-to-run noise on one host. Pair it with evaluating on your real workloads so the comparison uses your prompts, not a benchmark's.

When open weight models are the right choice

Open weights earn their place when one of these is true:

  • The data path must be yours. Regulated data, customer contracts or internal policy rule out sending prompts to a third party. Self-hosting is the only option that keeps every byte on your infrastructure.
  • You need a fixed version. A workflow validated against one checkpoint should not change because a provider updated its model.
  • You want a way out. A model several hosts serve gives you an alternative when one host has an outage, changes terms or retires the model.
  • You will fine-tune. Domain adaptation, distillation and specialised variants start from weights.
  • Steady, high volume makes owned capacity pay. Utilisation decides it; idle GPUs are expensive.

They are a weaker fit when you need the strongest available model on a hard task and a closed model wins your evaluation, when your traffic is spiky and small, or when nobody on the team will own a serving stack or a license review.

Running open weight models through INFRO

INFRO is a control plane over provider accounts you already hold. For open weight models that means connecting the hosts you chose with your own keys, such as Groq, Together AI, Fireworks AI or a lab's own API, and any server you run that speaks the OpenAI API as an OpenAI-compatible endpoint (connect a provider). Each host bills you directly; INFRO charges a subscription and takes no share of model spend.

A route can then put the same model on two hosts, or a self-hosted server and a hosted one, with failover between them (routes). Model allowlists keep production to the models and licenses your review approved, and every request record names the provider and connection that served it, with its latency and estimated provider cost, so a host-by-host comparison comes from your own traffic. INFRO does not make two hosts behave the same: whether a fallback host is equivalent is still a question your evaluation answers.

Questions readers ask

Are open weight models free to use commercially?
Many are, but check the exact model. Apache 2.0 and MIT models such as gpt-oss, Gemma 4 and DeepSeek V4.1 Flash allow commercial use with notice requirements. Llama asks for a separate license above 700 million monthly active users, Kimi K3 needs an agreement for large model-as-a-service businesses, and MiniMax M3 requires a notice or written authorization depending on revenue.
What is the difference between open weights and open source AI?
Open weights gives you the trained parameters. The Open Source AI Definition 1.0 also requires the complete training and inference code and detailed information about the training data, plus the freedom to use the system for any purpose. Most released models meet the first part only.
Can I run an open weight model on a single GPU?
Smaller ones, yes. OpenAI states gpt-oss-20b runs within 16 GB of memory and gpt-oss-120b fits on one 80 GB GPU thanks to MXFP4 weights; Meta states Llama 4 Scout runs on one H100 with int4 quantization. Models with hundreds of billions or trillions of parameters need a multi-GPU node.
Is a hosted open weight model the same as running it myself?
Not necessarily. A host chooses the precision, the context limit, the chat template and when to update. Groq, for example, lists a shorter context window for Qwen3.8-27B than the model card. Qualify each host as its own system before relying on it.

From the team that builds it

Where this shows up in INFRO

INFRO is a control plane in front of the provider accounts you already hold. The capabilities below are the parts of it this article touches, each with the documentation that defines its behaviour.

INFRO accounts are self-serve. Provider usage is billed to you by your providers; INFRO charges a software subscription and takes 0% of model spend. See plans.

Sources

Numbered in order of first citation. Each was opened and checked against the claim on the date shown.

  1. 1.The Open Source AI Definition 1.0 (opens in a new tab) — Open Source Initiative. Accessed Oct 19, 2026.
  2. 2.openai/gpt-oss-120b (opens in a new tab) — Hugging Face. Accessed Oct 19, 2026.
  3. 3.openai/gpt-oss-20b (opens in a new tab) — Hugging Face. Accessed Oct 19, 2026.
  4. 4.Qwen/Qwen3.8-27B (opens in a new tab) — Hugging Face. Accessed Oct 19, 2026.
  5. 5.google/gemma-4-31B-it (opens in a new tab) — Hugging Face. Accessed Oct 19, 2026.
  6. 6.mistralai/Mistral-Small-4-119B-2603 (opens in a new tab) — Hugging Face. Accessed Oct 19, 2026.
  7. 7.mistralai/Mistral-Large-3-675B-Instruct-2512 (opens in a new tab) — Hugging Face. Accessed Oct 19, 2026.
  8. 8.deepseek-ai/DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash (opens in a new tab) — Hugging Face. Accessed Oct 19, 2026.
  9. 9.meta-llama/Llama-3.3-70B-Instruct (opens in a new tab) — Hugging Face. Accessed Oct 19, 2026.
  10. 10.meta-llama/Llama-4-Scout-17B-16E-Instruct (opens in a new tab) — Hugging Face. Accessed Oct 19, 2026.
  11. 11.Kimi K3 License (opens in a new tab) — Moonshot AI. Accessed Oct 19, 2026.
  12. 12.GLM-5.3 license (opens in a new tab) — Z.ai. Accessed Oct 19, 2026.
  13. 13.MiniMax Community License (opens in a new tab) — MiniMax. Accessed Oct 19, 2026.
  14. 14.Qwen/Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B (opens in a new tab) — Hugging Face. Accessed Oct 19, 2026.
  15. 15.Supported models (opens in a new tab) — Groq. Accessed Oct 19, 2026.
  16. 16.moonshotai/Kimi-K3 (opens in a new tab) — Hugging Face. Accessed Oct 19, 2026.
  17. 17.zai-org/GLM-5.3 (opens in a new tab) — Hugging Face. Accessed Oct 19, 2026.
  18. 18.MiniMaxAI/MiniMax-M3 (opens in a new tab) — Hugging Face. Accessed Oct 19, 2026.
  19. 19.meta-llama models (opens in a new tab) — Hugging Face. Accessed Oct 19, 2026.
  20. 20.Gemma 4 collection (opens in a new tab) — Hugging Face. Accessed Oct 19, 2026.
  21. 21.Inference Providers (opens in a new tab) — Hugging Face. Accessed Oct 19, 2026.

About this article

Model facts, sizes and licenses were read from each model's Hugging Face model card or LICENSE file on 19 October 2026; the definition of open source AI from the Open Source Initiative; host facts from Groq's model list and Hugging Face's Inference Providers documentation, opened the same day. Only models whose cards were opened are named. No benchmark or quality ranking is given, and no model was run for this article. INFRO behaviour is described from its public documentation, which the authors write.

Last checked against its sources on . The next review is due by . No separate named reviewer is recorded for this article.

How articles are written, sourced and corrected is set out in the editorial standards.