Skip to content

Agents and multimodal systemsComparison

Voice agent APIs compared: GPT-Live, Grok Voice, Voxtral, Gemini

Four vendors now sell a voice agent API, and no two bill it the same way: per second of session, per audio token, per minute of conversation, or per character of speech. Here is what each one charges for, what it leaves out, and when a cascaded pipeline beats a native speech-to-speech model.

By INFRO Editorial

Published

9 min read

A bright amber waveform rising from a flat line on a dark grid, with a fainter echo wave beneath it and small glowing packets along the bottom rail

In short

As of 27 October 2026, OpenAI's GPT-Live 1 bills $0.05 per minute of session, per second, with the backend model billed separately; gpt-realtime-2.1 bills audio tokens at $32 in and $64 out per million; xAI's Grok Voice 3.0 is $0.08 per minute; Mistral's Voice Agents pipeline is $0.04 or $0.08 per minute; and Gemini 3.8 Live lists $0.005 per input minute and $0.018 per output minute of audio. Compare cost per completed call, not per minute, because session time includes silence and tool waits, and token-billed sessions re-read the conversation every turn.

Key takeaways

  • Four price units are in use: session seconds (GPT-Live), audio tokens (gpt-realtime-2.1), conversation minutes (Grok Voice 3.0, Mistral Voice Agents) and per-minute audio equivalents of tokens (Gemini 3.8 Live).
  • A per-minute price is not a per-call price. GPT-Live bills silence and backend waits as session time, and bills its backend model and tools separately.
  • Token-billed realtime sessions send the whole conversation to the model on every response, so later turns cost more than early ones; caching and truncation are the levers.
  • Gemini Live sessions end after 15 minutes of audio without context compression, and a connection lasts about 10 minutes; plan resumption before you plan prompts.
  • Native speech-to-speech wins on turn-taking; a cascaded pipeline wins when you must inspect, redact or approve text between hearing and speaking.

A voice agent API takes live audio in and sends spoken audio back, and the four vendors selling one in October 2026 bill it in four different units. OpenAI's GPT-Live 1 charges $0.05 per minute of session, billed per second, plus whatever its backend model costs1. OpenAI's gpt-realtime-2.1 charges per audio token2. xAI's Grok Voice 3.0 is $0.08 per minute3. Mistral's new Voice Agents pipeline is $0.04 or $0.08 per minute of conversation4, and Google's Gemini 3.8 Live lists per-minute equivalents of token prices5. None of those numbers is the cost of a call. This guide puts them on one table, works through what a five-minute call costs on each, and sets out when a native speech-to-speech model beats a pipeline you assemble yourself.

The four ways to build a voice agent

OpenAI's own voice agent guide draws the distinction that matters for every vendor here6:

  • Full duplex with a separate backend. A voice model listens and speaks at the same time and hands reasoning and tool use to a backend model or agent you choose. This is GPT-Live: OpenAI calls the hand-off delegation, and the user can keep talking while backend work runs7.
  • One speech-to-speech model. A single model hears audio, decides, calls tools and answers in speech in one session. This is the Realtime API (gpt-realtime-2.1), Grok Voice 3.0 and Gemini 3.8 Live.
  • A managed cascade. The vendor runs speech-to-text, a text model and text-to-speech as one product. Mistral's Voice Agents SDK does this: it transcribes the user, generates an answer with a model, speaks it and plays it back, and Mistral says plainly that "each one adds to the time the user waits for a reply"8.
  • Your own cascade. You call a transcription API, a text model and a speech API yourself. OpenAI's guide recommends this when you need to "inspect or transform intermediate text", for example to run policy checks before the agent responds6.

What each API charges for

APIArchitecturePrice unitList rateBilled separately
OpenAI GPT-Live 1Full duplex + backendSession time, per second$0.05 / minuteBackend model and tools at their own rates1
OpenAI gpt-realtime-2.1Speech-to-speechTokensAudio $32 in, $64 out, $0.40 cached per 1M; text $4 in, $24 outInput transcription, if enabled9
OpenAI gpt-realtime-2.1-miniSpeech-to-speechTokensAudio $10 in, $20 out, $0.30 cached per 1MInput transcription10
xAI Grok Voice 3.0Speech-to-speechMinutes$0.08 / minute ($4.80 / hour)Not stated on the pages read3
Mistral Voice AgentsManaged cascadeConversation minutes$0.04 / min with Mistral Small 4; $0.08 / min with larger modelsNot stated on the pages read4
Google Gemini 3.8 LiveSpeech-to-speechTokens, with per-minute equivalentsAudio in $3.00 per 1M or $0.005 / min; audio out $12.00 per 1M or $0.018 / minGoogle Search grounding: 5,000 free a month, then $14 per 1,0005
Voice agent API list rates, read from each vendor's pricing page on 2026-10-27.

The units are not interchangeable, and each one hides a different cost driver.

Session time (GPT-Live). OpenAI's cost guide says active session time includes time when the user speaks, the assistant speaks, "both are silent, or the backend is working". Muting the microphone does not close the session. Creating a WebRTC session bills 15 seconds while it initialises, applied against the session's duration once it runs, so a reconnect is not free9. The guide's own formula is voice seconds divided by 60 times the rate, plus backend costs.

Tokens (Realtime, Gemini Live). OpenAI counts user audio at one token per 100 ms and assistant audio at one token per 50 ms, and "the entire conversation is sent to the model for each Response", so later turns cost more than early ones; prompt caching applies automatically and is best-effort9. Gemini 3.8 Live prices are per million tokens with per-minute equivalents beside them, and its output price includes thinking tokens5.

Minutes (Grok Voice, Mistral). A flat per-minute rate is the easiest to forecast. The pages read do not say whether tool calls such as Grok's built-in web_search and x_search11, or Mistral's server-side web search8, add charges of their own; ask before you budget a tool-heavy agent.

What changed this month

  • Grok Voice 3.0 (14 October). Same endpoint, session parameters and events as 2.0, same price; grok-voice-latest now points to it, so sessions on the alias moved automatically, and grok-voice-2.0 is deprecated with no date given1211.
  • GPT-Live prompt-to-voice (16 October). You can create a custom voice from a text description through /v1/audio/voices. Creating it is free; speech in it bills at normal GPT-Live session rates. Prompt-generated voices work with GPT-Live, not with OpenAI's Text to Speech API. Nine more built-in voices for German, French, Hindi, Japanese and Korean arrived the same day1314.
  • Mistral Voxtral 3 and Voice Agents (20 October). Four Voxtral 3 models in public preview: a text-to-speech model, two offline transcription models and a realtime transcription model, released the same day as the Voice Agents pipeline15. Phone calls over SIP are available to enterprise customers at launch, through the account team8.
  • Legacy OpenAI realtime models. gpt-realtime and gpt-realtime-mini shut down on 20 January 2027, replaced by gpt-realtime-2.1 and gpt-realtime-2.1-mini16.

Gemini 3.8 Live and Gemini 3.8 Live Extended Thinking went GA on 15 September; Google describes the first as the default for low-latency voice agents and the second for background reasoning during a conversation17.

What a five-minute call costs

Two practical conclusions follow. First, for short calls the flat per-minute products are in the same range, and the backend model behind GPT-Live can matter as much as the voice rate. OpenAI's guide makes the point itself: a larger backend model can cost less overall "if it completes the task faster and the voice-session savings exceed its additional token costs"9. Second, for long calls the token-billed products change shape: cost per minute rises with the conversation unless you truncate. OpenAI documents a truncation setting with retention_ratio and a token limit for exactly this9.

Limits that shape the design

  • Gemini Live session lifetime. Without context window compression, audio-only sessions end after 15 minutes and audio-video sessions after 2 minutes. A connection lasts about 10 minutes; session resumption carries one session across connections, and resumption tokens are valid for 2 hours after the session ends18. Audio goes in as 16 kHz PCM and comes out as 24 kHz PCM over a WebSocket19.
  • GPT-Live concurrency. Rate limits are counted in concurrent sessions: 50 on the Build tier, 300 on Launch and 500 on Grow; the Free tier is not supported1.
  • gpt-realtime-2.1 context. 128,000 tokens of context and 32,000 maximum output tokens2; at one token per 100 ms of caller audio, a long call reaches truncation sooner than a text chat would.
  • Grok Voice transport. A WebSocket to wss://api.x.ai/v1/realtime; browsers authenticate with an ephemeral token, and session resumption is opt-in11.

What the vendors say about latency

No vendor publishes a guaranteed figure, and nothing here was measured. xAI says Grok Voice 3.0 has "class-leading latency at under one second"3. Mistral says its realtime transcription model runs "at sub-500ms latency in over 35 languages"20, but that is one stage of a cascade whose stages, in its own words, add up8. OpenAI declines to quote a number and tells you to measure audible response time at the median and 95th percentile, holding the caller, recording, backend model and transport fixed when you compare6. That is the right test for all four.

Native speech-to-speech or a cascade

RequirementNative speech-to-speechCascaded pipeline
Natural interruptions and turn-takingStronger: one model hears and speaksWeaker: end-of-turn detection is a separate stage
Inspect, redact or approve text before it is spokenHard: there is no text step to holdNatural: the text exists between stages
Swap one component (a new transcription model, another voice)Not possible; the model is the stackChange one stage, keep the rest
Predictable costFlat-rate products, yes; token-billed ones vary with call lengthThree line items, each with its own unit
Audit trailTranscripts are an add-on (OpenAI bills input transcription separately)The transcript is the pipeline's own input
Where each architecture wins and loses.

The cascade loses on feel: every stage adds to the wait, and turn detection becomes your problem unless a managed product such as Mistral's handles it. The native model loses on control: if a regulated workflow needs a policy check between understanding and speaking, a single speech-to-speech model gives you nowhere to put it. GPT-Live's split keeps the native feel for the conversation and moves the rules into a text backend you control7, which is why its backend cost belongs in every comparison.

Questions for the team before you commit

  • What is our median call length, and how much of it is silence or tool waits? That decides between per-minute and per-token billing.
  • Which backend model will answer, and what does it cost per completed task, retries included?
  • Do we need a text checkpoint for compliance, and if so, where?
  • What happens at 15 minutes on Gemini, at a dropped connection on any of them, and how do we resume?
  • Which voice and transcription vendors will we fall back to if our first choice degrades during a live call?

Running the text side of a voice agent through INFRO

INFRO is a control plane between your applications and the provider accounts you already hold; the providers bill you directly, and INFRO's charge is a software subscription. It does not serve realtime or live voice sessions: GPT-Live, the Realtime API, Grok Voice and Gemini Live connect straight to the vendor, and their session minutes do not appear in INFRO.

What it can carry is everything around the voice layer. The backend model a GPT-Live agent delegates to through client delegation is an ordinary chat request, and the stages of a cascaded pipeline are POST /v1/audio/transcriptions, POST /v1/chat/completions and POST /v1/audio/speech on INFRO's gateway, each served by your own connection. For those calls INFRO records the model, latency and estimated provider cost of every request, groups a call's requests under one trace id, checks budgets before the provider is called, and retries on another of your connections when a provider fails before the response starts. It does not judge how natural a voice sounds, and it does not price minutes it never sees.

Questions readers ask

What is the cheapest voice agent API per minute in October 2026?
On list rates read on 27 October 2026, Mistral Voice Agents with Mistral Small 4 ($0.04 per minute) and OpenAI GPT-Live 1 ($0.05 per minute of session, before backend model costs) have the lowest flat rates; Grok Voice 3.0 and Mistral's larger-model tier are $0.08 per minute. Gemini 3.8 Live lists $0.005 per minute of audio in and $0.018 per minute of audio out, but bills tokens, so long conversations cost more per minute than short ones. The cheapest per completed call depends on how long your calls run and what the backend does.
Does GPT-Live's $0.05 per minute include the model that answers?
No. OpenAI bills GPT-Live voice sessions per second at $0.05 per minute and bills backend model and tool usage separately at the normal rates. Session time also includes silence and time the backend spends working, so a slow tool lengthens the voice bill too.
How is gpt-realtime-2.1 billed?
By tokens. Audio input is $32 per million tokens and audio output $64, with cached audio input at $0.40. OpenAI counts user audio at one token per 100 ms and assistant audio at one token per 50 ms, and sends the whole conversation to the model on each response, so cost grows with conversation length. Input transcription, if enabled, is billed separately.
Should I build a cascaded pipeline or use a speech-to-speech model?
Use a native speech-to-speech model when natural turn-taking and interruption handling matter most. Use a cascaded pipeline (speech-to-text, a text model, text-to-speech) when you must inspect, log, redact or approve the text before it is spoken, or swap one stage without touching the others. OpenAI's GPT-Live sits between the two: one voice model talks while a separate backend reasons and calls tools.
Can INFRO proxy GPT-Live, Grok Voice or Gemini Live sessions?
No. INFRO does not serve realtime or live voice sessions; those connect directly to the vendor. INFRO can carry the text and audio calls around them: the backend model a voice agent delegates to, and the speech-to-text and text-to-speech requests of a cascaded pipeline, with budgets, failover and a request record on your own provider accounts.

From the team that builds it

Where this shows up in INFRO

INFRO is a control plane in front of the provider accounts you already hold. The capabilities below are the parts of it this article touches, each with the documentation that defines its behaviour.

INFRO accounts are self-serve. Provider usage is billed to you by your providers; INFRO charges a software subscription and takes 0% of model spend. See plans.

Sources

Numbered in order of first citation. Each was opened and checked against the claim on the date shown.

  1. 1.GPT-Live 1 model page (opens in a new tab) — OpenAI. Accessed Oct 27, 2026.
  2. 2.GPT-Realtime-2.1 model page (opens in a new tab) — OpenAI. Accessed Oct 27, 2026.
  3. 3.Introducing Grok Voice 3.0 (opens in a new tab) — xAI. Accessed Oct 27, 2026.
  4. 4.Pricing (opens in a new tab) — Mistral AI. Accessed Oct 27, 2026.
  5. 5.Gemini Developer API pricing (opens in a new tab) — Google. Accessed Oct 27, 2026.
  6. 6.Voice agents (opens in a new tab) — OpenAI. Accessed Oct 27, 2026.
  7. 7.Getting started with GPT-Live (opens in a new tab) — OpenAI. Accessed Oct 27, 2026.
  8. 8.Voice agents overview (opens in a new tab) — Mistral AI. Accessed Oct 27, 2026.
  9. 9.Cost optimization (voice) (opens in a new tab) — OpenAI. Accessed Oct 27, 2026.
  10. 10.Pricing (opens in a new tab) — OpenAI. Accessed Oct 27, 2026.
  11. 11.Speech to Speech (opens in a new tab) — xAI. Accessed Oct 27, 2026.
  12. 12.Release notes (opens in a new tab) — xAI. Accessed Oct 27, 2026.
  13. 13.Changelog (opens in a new tab) — OpenAI. Accessed Oct 27, 2026.
  14. 14.Custom voices (opens in a new tab) — OpenAI. Accessed Oct 27, 2026.
  15. 15.Changelog (opens in a new tab) — Mistral AI. Accessed Oct 27, 2026.
  16. 16.Deprecations (opens in a new tab) — OpenAI. Accessed Oct 27, 2026.
  17. 17.Release notes (opens in a new tab) — Google. Accessed Oct 27, 2026.
  18. 18.Session management with Live API (opens in a new tab) — Google. Accessed Oct 27, 2026.
  19. 19.Gemini Live API overview (opens in a new tab) — Google. Accessed Oct 27, 2026.
  20. 20.Voxtral 3 (opens in a new tab) — Mistral AI. Accessed Oct 27, 2026.

About this article

Every price, limit and date was read on 2026-10-27 from the vendors' own pages: OpenAI's pricing page, GPT-Live and gpt-realtime-2.1 model pages, voice agent, GPT-Live, custom voice and voice cost guides, deprecations page and changelog; xAI's Grok Voice 3.0 announcement, release notes, speech-to-speech docs and models page; Mistral's changelog, pricing page, Voice Agents overview and Voxtral 3 announcement; Google's Gemini API pricing page, release notes, Live API overview and session management guide. Latency statements are the vendors' own claims, attributed as such; nothing was measured. The per-call arithmetic is illustrative, at list rates. INFRO behaviour is described from its documentation and gateway source.

Last checked against its sources on . The next review is due by . No separate named reviewer is recorded for this article.

How articles are written, sourced and corrected is set out in the editorial standards.